MINUTES

NORTH CENTRAL MICHIGAN COLLEGE BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING – Library Conference Rooms 1 & 2 Friday, July 14, 2023 (10:00 a.m.)

1. CALL TO ORDER

Chairman Rasmussen called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m.

2. ATTENDANCE

PRESENT: Trustees Etienne, Fought, Keiswetter, Kring, Rasmussen, Shirilla, and Shorter

ABSENT: None

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

It was moved by Trustee Fought and supported by Trustee Etienne that the Agenda be approved as written.

AYES: Trustees Etienne, Fought, Keiswetter, Kring, Rasmussen, Shirilla, and Shorter

NAYS: None ABSENT: None

4. UNSCHEDULED PUBLIC COMMENT

Chairman Rasmussen identified the podium individuals will be directed to if they would like to speak, and explained speakers would be limited to 3 minutes, and be provided notice when they have 15 seconds remaining. It was requested that each speaker provide their name, where they reside, and affiliation to North Central Michigan College. Public comment was given by 10 individuals as follows:

- 1) Tony Dunaske of Petoskey, Professor Emeritus and former representative of the Faculty and Professional Staff negotiating team.
 - Mr. Dunaske offered his thoughts on the June 22nd luncheon lecture incident and posed questions regarding security at the event, to what extent college officials were involved, and the conduct of the protestors.
- 2) Dr. Jane Millar of Petoskey, NCMC Supporter and former Adjunct Faculty. Dr. Millar encouraged the board to keep two things in mind: 1) the college invited Enbridge as a speaker and the college had the right to protect the speaker and patrons of the event, and 2) questions ulterior motives behind the letter provided to the Trustees.
- 3) Ben Crocket of Petoskey, NCMC Faculty and VP of Association of Faculty and Professional Staff (AFPS).
 - Mr. Crocket reiterated the AFPS request for an independent investigation, and explained why the AFPS chose to reach out to the media regarding the June 22nd incident, citing that important questions need to be answered.
- 4) Chet Jessick of Petoskey, NCMC Faculty and President of the AFPS Mr. Jessick reiterated the request for an independent investigation into whether President Finley's actions are in violation of the Employee Handbook.
- 5) Fredrick Harrington of Petoskey, Anishinaabe, retired NCMC Professor and a water protector.

- Mr. Harrington expressed the beliefs of the Anishinaabe water protectors, and the ways of protest that are unique to their demonstrators and shared his opinions on the incident.
- 6) Eric Grandstaff, retired Director of Library Media & retired Dean of IT.

 Mr. Grandstaff commented on his experience when he worked at North Central, focusing on how they were taught to deal with protestors and other situations during his time here, and expressed his opinions of the situation from what he has seen in the news. He handed a written statement to Trustee Shorter when he ran out of time.
- 7) Deborah Hanson of Levering, formerly of Petoskey, no relationship to the college. Ms. Hanson shared that she made phone calls to NCMC staff prior to the event, expressing concerns and calling for the scheduled Luncheon Lecture to be cancelled. She provided her contact information to the board when her time ran out, and a copy of a letter she wrote to the editor of Petoskey News Review, that had not been printed.
- 8) Christy Lyons of Petoskey, Dean of Corporate and Community Education.

 Ms. Lyons spoke out as someone who had witnessed the incident, and provided her account of the events that took place on June 22nd, in which she and many attendees were frightened by the actions of the protestors. She shared some of the correspondence from those who attended the event, provided in a post-event survey, complimenting the way the situation was handled.
- 9) Charlie MacInnis of Petoskey, Luncheon Lecture Scheduler. Mr. MacInnis spoke as a witness and organizer of the event and provided his account of the events on June 22nd and offered his opinion the actions taken in response to the threats received were appropriate. He detailed some of the rules he puts in place for these occasionally controversial events.
- 10) Frank Hawthorne of Petoskey, neighbor and sometimes student.

 Mr. Hawthorne stated that as someone who doesn't have any personal stake in the matter, he provided input that he feels three minutes is not enough time to hear comments.

5. CLOSED SESSION

Chairman Rasmussen motioned to go into a closed session to consider the following: a. Closed session to consider attorney-client privileged opinion letter exempt from discussion or disclosure by state statute. MCL 15.268(1)(h); MCL 15.243(1)(g).

b. Closed session to review complaints against a staff member based on staff member's request for a closed hearing. MCL 15.268(1)(a).

The motion to go into closed session was supported by Trustees Shirilla and Keiswetter.

AYES: Trustees Etienne, Fought, Keiswetter, Kring, Rasmussen, Shirilla, and Shorter

NAYS: None ABSENT: None

The trustees met in the Library's TEAL Lab for closed session at 10:40 a.m.

The trustees returned at 11:56 a.m.

It was moved by Trustee Shirilla, and supported by Trustee Kring to return to open session at 11:57 a.m.

Chairman Rasmussen proposed and trustee Fought supported the following motion:

In response to the Association of Faculty and Professional Staff (AFPS) letter to Human Resources dated 06-30-2023, the Board of Trustees has been working with the City of Petoskey Department of Public Safety and is reviewing statements of Luncheon Lecture participants that were in attendance on June 22, to determine the facts surrounding this incident. The Board of Trustees will also pursue an independent investigation through the Michigan Community College Association (MCCA).

AYES: Trustees Etienne, Fought, Keiswetter, Kring, Rasmussen, Shirilla, and Shorter

NAYS: None ABSENT: None

6. ADJOURNMENT.

There being no further business, Trustee Fought motioned and Trustees Etienne supported that the meeting be adjourned at 11:58 a.m.

AYES: Trustees Etienne, Fought, Keiswetter, Kring, Rasmussen, Shirilla, and Shorter

NAYS: None ABSENT: None

/S/ Daniel D. Rasmussen, Chairman

Melissa Reiswetter

/S/ Melissa Keiswetter, Secretary